Departments

Scroll down for more information

Oakland Beach Elementary Schools is organized into departments that supplement academic programs and student services. Each department is composed of dedicated experts in their fields who are committed to serving our students and their families.

To find out more about the departments, contact them, or access resources provided by these teams, click the tabs below to find out more.

Art Teacher | Catherine Davis-Hayes | Catherine.Davis-Hayes@warwickschools.org     

Nurse Teacher

Andrea Sharkey| andrea.sharkey@warwickschools.org

Music Teacher Instrumental | Jessica Mathias | jessica.mathias@warwickschools.org
Music Teacher
| Kristin Sackal | kristin.sackal@warwickschools.org
Music Teacher | Joshua Sayer | joshua.sayer@warwickschools.org

Music education is a vital part of Oakland Beach Elementary’s curriculum. Young learners show innumerable benefits from the exposure to music and the concepts of music making and music theory. Music education programs help young learners scholastic development in myriad ways as students not only take inspiration from the music but see lessons from other classes – math, science, english, social studies – echoed in song. They develop appreciation for human potential in the musicians they hear and seek to find and realize their own musical gifts.

Special Education Teachers
Jennifer Floody   Jennifer.Floody@warwickschools.org
Joan Theroux –  Joan.Theroux@warwickschools.org
Tracy Morgan | Tracy.Morgan@warwickschools.org
Cynthia Gillooly | Cynthia.Gillooly@wawickschools.org
Lindsay Haun | lindsay.haun@warwickschools.org    
Kathleen Fagan kathleen.fagan@warwickschools.org
Jayne McKivergan |
jayne.mckivergan@warwickschools.org
Samantha Fagan
 | samantha.fagan@warwickschools.org
Tracy Martino
 | tracy.martino@warwickschools.org
Bethany Cardarelli
 | bethany.cardarelli@warwickschools.org

Federal and State Regulations that require the district to provide a free and appropriate public education in the least restrictive environment for students with disabilities govern the Warwick Public School System. The Special Education Department has in place a referral and evaluation process that addresses each child who might be in need of Special Education services. When a determination is made that a child qualifies for Special Education Services, there are a range of services and programs to meet the unique needs of each child.

Library Media Specialist | Suzanne Skiffington | suzanne.skiffington@warwickschools.org

Oakland Beach Elementary School has a wonderful selection of fiction and non-fiction books at every reading level. Students are encouraged to check out books on a weekly basis. Borrowed books should be returned on time and in good condition. Any damaged books can be returned to the librarian for repair, however it is the responsibility of the parent to reimburse the school for any books that are damaged beyond repair or lost. If necessary, final report cards will be held until either book or replacement costs are submitted.

Warwick Public Library Website

School Nurse | Andrea Sharkey | andrea.sharkey@warwickschools.org

Title I Program            https://www.warwickschools.org/title-i-family-programs/

A Brief Overview of Title I Services for Oakland Beach, Lippitt, and Norwood Elementary Schools: Family centers, lending libraries, programs facilitator and family liaison. 

Each school has its own family center and lending library. The family center is located inside the school and open during school hours to parents, students, and faculty alike. Its purpose and goal is to provide assistance and resources for a wide variety of topics including but not limited to: 

  • Social-emotional learning – how to manage big emotions of all kinds. 
  • Parenting support – resources on discipline, homework help, adolescence, bullying, special needs, financial literacy, preparation against predators. Preparing for middle school and beyond.
  • Adult resources – coping with depression, addiction, homelessness, abuse.  
  • Family resources – nutrition, budgeting, preparing for college, adoption, the loss of a loved one, divorce, homelessness.
  • Community outreach – helping those in need. We have a school backpack pantry program, as a member agency of the Rhode Island Community Food Bank we provide backpacks filled with food for students to take home over the weekends throughout the school year. 

The lending library within the family center provides literature for faculty and families at no cost with no due dates. Take what you would like for as long as needed. 

New this year Title I has a fulltime liaison and programs facilitator, Cameron Kadek. Her job includes:

  • Offering a bridge between home and school.
  • Supporting families by providing resources and assistance
  • Facilitating free monthly family activities and parent workshops
  • Working with PTA and VOWS to maximize support within the community 
  • Provide support to teachers within classrooms